top of page

The Man who was

Two of the great differences that humans have with respect to other animals are the language and the acquired knowledge that brings with it, that allows us to know that we are going to die sooner or later. And it was pure statistics: Stan Lee, at 95, was hardly going to live much longer.


For parental work reasons, I have not had much family ties, so most of the company I've had during my childhood have been comics and my dogs. I have received education from the cradle of entertainment and over time I have had idols in other sectors that have also brought me many lessons learned through their eyes (there are Bruce Springsteen or Johan Cruyff, for example). But, certainly, Stan, from his desk, helped that today I am much much better person than I would have been without him.


Good old Stan was, in the distance, the grandfather that I would have always wanted to have. And thanks to him and his imagination, shared as a legacy with all of us, I have been able to spend so many hours evading and enjoying comics and their adaptations. Also, thanks to him and those who have gone before me, I can enjoy my profession. I can not help but, in any of the aspects in which I can define myself as a person, to be grateful for everything he did for everyone in general and for me in particular.


From today, Joan will not be alone. We will be a little bit more.


Dos de las grandes diferencias que tenemos los humanos con respecto al resto de animales, son el lenguaje y - el conocimiento adquirido que trae consigo, que nos permite- el saber que vamos a morir tarde o temprano. Y era pura estadística: Stan Lee, con 95 años, difícilmente iba a vivir mucho más tiempo.


 

Por motivos laborales paternos, no he tenido mucho lazo familiar, así que la mayor parte de la compañía que he tenido durante mi infancia han sido los cómics y mis perros. La educación la he recibido desde la cuna del entretenimiento y con el paso del tiempo he ido teniendo ídolos en otros sectores que también me han aportado muchas lecciones aprendidas a través de sus ojos (ahí están Bruce Springsteen o Johan Cruyff, por ejemplo). Pero, ciertamente, Stan, desde su escritorio, colaboró a que hoy en día sea mucho mucho mejor persona de lo que hubiera sido sin él.


El bueno de Stan fue, en la distancia, el abuelo que siempre habría querido tener. Y gracias a él y a su imaginación, compartida como legado con todos nosotros, he podido pasar tantas horas evadiéndome y disfrutando con los cómics y sus adaptaciones. Además, gracias a él y a los que me han precedido, puedo disfrutar de mi profesión. No puedo más que, en cualquiera de los aspectos en los que puedo definirme como persona, estarle agradecido por todo lo que hizo por todos en general y por mí en particular.


Desde hoy, Joan no estará sola. Nosotros lo estaremos un poquito más.



bottom of page